Difference Between Vedic And Western Astrology

The Western and the Vedic chart look very different from each other. Where the Western chart is round in shape, the Vedic chart is square. A careful examination of both the charts will let you know that the planets in the Vedic chart are aligned differently.

In fact, for those who are familiar with Western astrology, the alignment of the planets appears to be with the wrong constellations (Signs). For example, in the Vedic system, the Sun sign is in Sagittarius, but in the Western system, it is in Capricorn. This is because in Vedic astrology, the calculation of horoscope is done differently - in a more accurate manner.

The Interpretations Of Vedic System Is Considered As More Precise

The interpretations of Vedic astrology are most often comparatively much more precise. In this form of astrology, you get a much better view of the Karmic tendencies of a person and know when these tendencies are going to influence his/her life.

In comparison to the Western astrology, the Vedic system gives much more reliable predictions about when certain events are likely to take place. The system uses a specific method - "Dashas" - that tells the times of the life events that are likely to happen. "Dashas" refers to the method where the planetary time cycles are studied in detail. Western astrology lacks any corresponding method like that.

Astronomical Differences

The Western zodiac is Tropical while the Vedic zodiac is Sidereal. It means, as per the Western concept, the beginning point of the zodiac is the exact point in space where the Sun crosses the equator of the Earth. On the other hand, in the Vedic system, the alignment of the various zodiac signs is associated with twenty-seven constellations. For example, Aries aligns with Aswini - the first constellation.

The Basic Principles Of Vedic System Have Remained Unaltered

The basic concept and principles that govern Vedic astrology have not changed for thousands of years. Western astrology, on the other hand, has gone through a series of changes from time to time. The present form is completely new, as many new planets have been discovered and added to the natal charts. This has directly influenced the interpretation system.

Only Nine Planets Are Acknowledged In The Vedic Astrology

While Western astrology acknowledges all the planets (including those discovered recently), the Vedic astrology system acknowledges only nine of them - only those that were discovered in the ancient times. These nine planets include Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Sun, Rahu, and Ketu. Rahu and Ketu are the two nodes of the moon - these are not considered in the Western form of astrology.

Signs of the Zodiac - Basic Features As per Western Astrology

Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

Significance Of Planets In Astrology

Mercury Venus Earth
Mars Jupiter Saturn
Uranus Neptune Pluto

Four Elements In Astrology

Air Water Earth Fire