Identifying The Ways Astrology Forecasts Are Made

Astrology forecasts are mainly made through the following means.


In vedic and western astrology forecasts are made through astrology readings. These readings are based on an astrological chart called the horoscope. This is a representation of celestial entities. The position of the Sun, Moon, and planets at the moment of the event are studied. Two-dimensional diagrams of the heavens created for specific moments in time are used. The diagram is then studied as per a set of rules depending on the various traditions followed in different countries. Arithmetic and geometry are also employed in conjunction with astronomical charts. Finally interpretations are made of the alignment of celestial bodies at that moment. A horoscope is usually calculated for the moment of an individual's birth, or at the beginning of an enterprise or event, because the alignments of the heavens at that moment are thought to determine future events.

The Zodiac:

The zodiac is the band of constellations through which the Sun, Moon, and planets move across the heavens. Astrologers have developed a system of twelve signs of the zodiac over the years based on constellations they consider to be most important. These are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Western astrologers use the tropical zodiac. This is the division of the heavens into twelve equal parts of 30 degrees each, beginning with the first point of Aries where the sun's path through the sky meets the Earth's celestial equator at the northern hemisphere's spring equinox. Astrology forecasts are made based on the procession of equinoxes.

Chinese Zodiac:

In Chinese astrology the Zodiac employs a system wherein each sign corresponds to one of twelve 'double-hours' of the day, and to one of the twelve months. Each sign of the Chinese zodiac governs a different year, and combines with a system based on the five elements of Chinese cosmology to give a 60 (12 x 5) year cycle. Chinese astrology has different versions in Korea, Japan, Vietnam, Thailand and other Asian countries. Each of the twelve zodiac signs is an animal. These are Rat, Ox , Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake , Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig.

Tarrot Cards:

Tarrot card reading uses a deck of 52 cards. These do not make general predictions. Particular questions can be answered through a choice of cards. Every card holds a variety of symbolic meanings. Much of the symbolism is derived from Kabbalah and Alchemy. There are also themed tarot decks which have even more specific symbolism. These are more popular in the west.

Palmistry And Numerology:

These are also part of astrology. Palmistry seeks to find the future in the lines carved in our palms. There are lines that show certain aspects of life. The life line, the luck line, lines dedicated to career and family are all read by practitioners of this science, called palmists.

Numerology gives an overview of personality and life path through the understanding of numbers that govern birth. The year, the number of the month of birth and the number of the day of the week are all used to make astrology forecasts.

Signs of the Zodiac - Basic Features As per Western Astrology

Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

Significance Of Planets In Astrology

Mercury Venus Earth
Mars Jupiter Saturn
Uranus Neptune Pluto

Four Elements In Astrology

Air Water Earth Fire