A Guide To Understand The Feng Shui Basics

Feng Shui is an ancient Chinese technique of bringing in positive energy and harmony in the environment of a place. Often when you enter certain homes, a feeling of peace and contentment pervades you. Similarly, when you enter the premises of successful businesses, the vibrant, purposeful environment might fascinate you. The Chinese would tell you that that the Feng Shui of the house and office is correct and this has brought about harmony and positive energy.

Feng Shui is all about the correct placement of things, be it rooms, doors, furniture, plants or any other object, so as to maximize the flow of positive energy. "Feng" in Chinese means "wind" and "Shui" means "water". In ancient China it was believed that a tranquil wind and pure water would bring about a good harvest and good health. Thus, the term Feng Shui denotes prosperity and good fortune.

Feng Shui has been described as a mystical art. It is a complex subject. However, the Feng Shui Basics have been explained here:

  • Chi And Sha
  • The Chinese believed that positive and negative energy flowed through everything in the world. The good energy or "Chi" travels along curvaceous paths. "Sha" is also called the "sharp energy" or "poison arrows". Straight lines or angles create Sha. For example, a straight path to your house creates Sha. Feng Shui practitioners suggest that bushes and shrubs should be used to break the straight line. These practitioners also suggest ways to improve the Chi in a house, office and in the planning of towns using the knowledge of Feng Shui.

  • Yin And Yang
  • The Yin Yang theory is one of the most important theories of Feng Shui. As per this theory, Yin and Yang are the two opposite but interconnected forces. Yin is the passive force while Yang is the active force. Stillness, darkness, leisurely and calm movements are all Yin energy. Strong, spirited sounds and vivid hues, bright lights are all examples of Yang energy. For example, in a bedroom ideally the Yin energy should be prevalent. In the living room, kitchen and in the offices, the Yang energy should be predominant.

  • The Five Elements
  • The theory of the five elements is one of the fundamental theories of Feng Shui. According to this, the five elements that make up this world constantly interact with each other. This interaction could be productive or destructive. The five elements or energies represent chi. They move in five directions namely radiating outwards, concentrating inwards, rising, descending, and rotating. These elements are represented by specific colors. By using the colors appropriately, you can bring harmony to your environment. The five elements and the colors that represent them are:

    • Wood: Green and Brown
    • Fire: Red, Orange, Dark Yellow and Purple
    • Earth: Sandy/Earthy Light Brown and Light Yellow
    • Metal: White and Gray
    • Water: Blue and Black

The Feng Shui basics are simple to understand. However, to be able to bring harmony to your home or office, you need to have an in-depth knowledge of the subject. The tools used to understand the Feng Shui of a place are the Compass and the Ba-gua or energy map of the place. These help in determining how to correct or improve the Feng Shui of a place.