Western Astrology: The Astrological System Of Western Countries

Western astrology, as the term suggests, is the astrological system that is popular mainly in the Western countries. This form of astrology has been in practice in Europe and Arabia for thousands of years. The concept is based upon a system where the location of the Sun, as seen from Earth, is studied. The practitioners study the path of the Sun through the heavens. The constellations (known as zodiac in astrology) lie along this path. However, this form of astrology is geocentric. In the geocentric system, the Earth is in the center and the Sun revolves around it.


The origin of this astrological system dates back to the 2nd millennium BC in Mesopotamia. Gradually, it started spreading from Mesopotamia to the other parts of the world. First, it reached Egypt where it went through various developmental stages. But, it was the Greek astronomer and astrologer, Ptolemy, who formed the foundation of the Western astrology tradition. Ptolemy is considered as the father of Western version of astrology. He described the basics of this concept in his work, Tetrabiblos.

The Planets

As per the concept of Western astrology, the location of the planets indicates impulses or basic drives in the human psyche. These planets have been classified into three groups - classical planets, modern planets, and the moon's nodes.

Classical planets include seven heavenly bodies discovered in the ancient time - Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn. The modern planets are the heavenly bodies discovered in the modern times. They include Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, and Ceres. The Moon's nodes are also important in this form of astrology. The nodes are the exact points where the path of the Moon crosses the ecliptic. Here is a brief rundown on what each planet indicates:-

  • Sun - life force, self-expression
  • Pluto - regeneration, birth, death, elimination
  • Neptune - arts, deceptions, illusions, dreams
  • Uranus - insights, stress, sudden changes
  • Saturn - ambitions, lessons, burdens, responsibilities, duties
  • Jupiter - excess, opportunity, expansion, luck
  • Mars - sexual expression, willpower, accidents, energy, action
  • Venus - social life, beauty, creativity, love life
  • Mercury - short journeys, business matters, communication, speech, thoughts
  • Moon - parents, home, cycles, intuition, emotions
  • Ceres - family bonds and relationships, pregnancy and gestation, reproductive issues of an adult woman, climactic changes, women's independence
  • North Node - ingrained habits, past life
  • South Node - the purpose of your soul

Based On The Construction Of A Horoscope

The concept of Western astrology is based on the construction of horoscopes. The horoscope is first constructed at an exact moment in time and then is studied. It is believed that there are specific moments in life when cosmic bodies have an influence on it. These specific moments may include the time of birth, the time of marriage, the time of starting a new business, or other such things. The natal chart is the most common horoscope that is constructed at the time of the person's birth.

However, here, it is important for you to understand that in this form of astrology, only the location of the Sun is considered.

Signs of the Zodiac - Basic Features As per Western Astrology

Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

Significance Of Planets In Astrology

Mercury Venus Earth
Mars Jupiter Saturn
Uranus Neptune Pluto

Four Elements In Astrology

Air Water Earth Fire