The Basics Of Astrology

The astrology basics include many things, such as zodiac signs, the role of the Sun, and the various elements and the modalities. The signs of astrology are classified on the basis of the date of birth and then are further classified based upon the elements and modalities. Here is a brief rundown on the same.

The Signs Of Astrology

The signs of astrology are more commonly referred to as Zodiac signs or Sun signs. This is about the study of the pattern and relationship of sun movement through these different signs. There are twelve signs - each representing specific characteristics. The Sun plays a very important role in astrology. It is believed that the Sun represents every person's basic mode of expression, ego, his/her identity and personality.

The twelve signs are as follows - the classification has been made on the basis of the date of birth.

  • Aries - 21st March to 20th April
  • Taurus - 21st April to 21st May
  • Gemini - 22nd May to 21st June
  • Cancer - Jun 22nd to 23rd July
  • Leo - July 24th to 23rd August
  • Virgo - 24th August to 23rd September
  • Libra - 24th September to 23rd October
  • Scorpio - 24th October to 22nd November
  • Sagittarius - 23rd November to 21st December
  • Capricorn - 22nd December to 20th January
  • Aquarius - 21st January to 19th February
  • Pisces - 20th February to 20th March

The Elements Of Astrology

The study of astrology revolves around four main elements - water, air, earth, and fire. These elements represent the basic nature or natural temperament of a person. The signs of zodiac can also be classified upon the basis of elements, as each element of astrology is associated with three different zodiac signs. It is said that the zodiac signs sharing the same element are positive towards each other.

  • The three zodiac signs that share the element "water" include Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. Water is intuitive, sensitive, and emotional.
  • The element "Air" is shared by Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. Air is good, communicative, and intellectual with social relationships.
  • Earth is shared by Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. Earth means that the person is basically good, practical, and stable with money.
  • Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are the three zodiac signs that share the last element "fire". Fire means that the person is basically inspirational, future-oriented, positive, and institutive.

The Modalities In Astrology

The modalities also represent the basic or primary states of activity - the natural method of a person's operation. There are three modalities in astrology- mutable, fixed, and cardinal. There are four zodiac signs associated with each modality. Unlike elements, the zodiac signs that share the same modality are considered to be negative towards each other.

  • Mutable is shared by Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. People with mutable signs are said to be resourceful and flexible but they usually have a very tough time when it comes to making a decision.
  • The four zodiac signs that share the fixed modality include Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius. People with fixed signs are basically persistent, determined, and stubborn to change.
  • The remaining four signs Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn share the last modality - Cardinal. People with Cardinal signs are said to be pioneering, impatient, and independent.

Signs of the Zodiac - Basic Features As per Western Astrology

Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

Significance Of Planets In Astrology

Mercury Venus Earth
Mars Jupiter Saturn
Uranus Neptune Pluto

Four Elements In Astrology

Air Water Earth Fire